Orbea Rise Sizing

GizmoSL

Dec 15, 2020
San Antonio Texas
First of all, let me say that I am not an ebike newbie, I have owned a Specialized Fattie, an S-Works SL, I currently own a Mondraker Crafty RR SL and in the quest for the ebike sweet spot, purchased an Orbea Rise M LTD that was previously ordered by an LBS.So, I got the default package, including the 125mm dropper post. I have tried hard to like the Rise, overlooking the short seatpost, and other compromises in the name of lightness. but I am having a hard time with the sizing of the bike. the steerer on the fork is way short, and I am not sure is was in the name of weight savings, or what, but it is becoming a huge problem. I may have needed an XL frame, but I have always been comfortable with an L size in the many MTBs I have purchased. I literally have to lean in with the Rise and after a half hour or so into the ride, I am really uncomfortable. There is no adjustment on the head tube at all.
There have been a few other minor issues, like the brakes sometimes are a little overmatched, and a minor encounter with a branch busted the Shimano controller, which is pretty frail and the saddle is not great.
Overall, I am a little disappointed in the overall product. And 11k? I'll stick with my heavier Mondraker, which has a first class build and components, and compared to the Orbea, is worth the stunning price tag. Take some time before you make a 5 figure decision. Light is not always right.

Schnipps

May 12, 2021
Newcastle
don’t mean to sound off but surely you buy a frame size based on the geo of that specific manufacturer model, not just getting a size as you have had it before in other bikes? There all totally different, so maybe you did need an XL. As for the weight and price stuff I agree but then the m-ltd is ridiculously priced anyway.

stiv674

E*POWAH Elite
Mar 4, 2019
Wiltshire