Talk to me about Mullets

Hobo Mikey

E*POWAH Elite
Subscriber
May 22, 2020
Where ever
For years I rode 27.5, then I bought a E Cube 29er but I also went to large instead of medium frame size. It felt better at the time but I never gelled with the 29er. Sold the Cube and got my Whyte E150 RS with 27.5 wheels. I love this bike but am now looking at the Whyte E180 RSX which is a mullet. I have no experience with a mullet so what would I expect. It must work because a lot of peaple run this set up but how different is it. Your options and experience please. (y)

Hobo Mikey

E*POWAH Elite
Subscriber
May 22, 2020
Where ever
Geo, travel and kinematics will all make way more difference than the mullet set up.
Had to look up those words on Google. :D But they must make mullets for a reason and not just a trend.
with my 29er I just found the wheel size just too big but with the 27.5 the bike feels part of me If that makes sense.

RustyIron

E*POWAH Elite World Champion
Subscriber
Jun 5, 2021
La Habra, California
Currently rockin' a mullet, and it serves me well. I can't really say definitively that it's better because I've not ridden the exact same bike with a slightly longer chainstay and larger wheel. I doubt that there are many who have. But this bike handles nicely.

The downside for me is that on a 29/29 or 27.5/27.5, I like to run the same tires front and rear, putting a new tire on the front, and the slightly worn front onto the rear. With the mullet setup, I spend a little more on tires.

Bad-Latitude

Aug 21, 2022
Simi Valley