Washington E-Bikes restrictions?

coderdan

Mar 8, 2021
Washington
I'm new to the E-Bike world and never thought beforehand about the whole e-bike hate/places not allowing them. For some context, I live in Washington and when I check trail forks pretty much everything shows as e-bikes not allowed although I think that's the default unless someone sets it as allowed.

So that brings me to how do people handle it in other areas, or anyone have experience with E-Bikes in WA?. Do you call up the places where its not clear(aka everywhere), just go and hope for the best?.

I love my e-bike but I'm starting to wonder if I'll really have to wait 1+~years until more trails "allow" them. Or if I should just get a traditional bike for dirt jump tracks etc and consider selling the e-bike if there ends up not being much good places for it.

Ie: SkillParks on TrailForks
1616179438937.png

Last edited:

fenwick458

Oct 6, 2020
Cumbria
this seems slightly worrying. so you say you need permission to ride at local trails?
my local trails are simply 1km mile away, I ride straight there, nobody's in charge it's just a forest with some trails that have been build by the local mountain bikers.
it is interesting to see how people go biking around the world though

coderdan

Mar 8, 2021
Washington
Reaching out to the Redmond Bike Park they said its allowed for class 1 Redmond Bike Park

The issue comes from a bill in 2018 that made riding E-Bikes on trails/natural surfaces up to the discretion of land owners and the default to consider them as motorized vehicles. Washington State clarifies e-bike rules on trails

Now it looks like places are opening up to them / becoming more aware but the whole thing seems like a pain in the ass and will take time to develop. Probably will have to end up emailing all the good places and making a list.