Cheapest way to lighten EMTB

DWSN

Oct 18, 2021
UK
Hi all,

Trying to shift some weight from the EMTB as it feels sluggish and is hard to get much faster than the assisted speed on flat trails, or as I am new to EMTB is this just the way it is?

Thinking tyres for rotational weight - currently have magic marys which I really like, swap to carbon bars and change pedals....

Cheers!

DWSN

Oct 18, 2021
UK
Haha yeah that would be by far the cheapest way and no doubt the best for me in the long run!

Mteam

E*POWAH Elite
Aug 3, 2020
gone
Trying to shift some weight from the EMTB as it feels sluggish and is hard to get much faster than the assisted speed on flat trails, or as I am new to EMTB is this just the way it is?

Its sort of the way it is, but there are things that can be done to make it easier to pedal over the motor cut off speed without spending much money.

1. Make sure you're in the right gear - sounds obvious, but when the motor is assisting its easy to be in a higher gear than you would be if the motor wasnt assisting, so shift down a gear or two in general and keep your cadence high.
2. Dont use massive heavy draggy tyres - especially on the back. Heavy downhill casing tyres with super grippy rubber and a slow rolling tread pattern are awful unless pointing down a steep hill. The Magic mary tread pattern is quite slow rolling - ok on the front, but a bit slow on the back, not sure what compound and casing type you run, but if its sticky and heavy it will make the bike feel slow.

DWSN

Oct 18, 2021
UK
Its sort of the way it is, but there are things that can be done to make it easier to pedal over the motor cut off speed without spending much money.

1. Make sure you're in the right gear - sounds obvious, but when the motor is assisting its easy to be in a higher gear than you would be if the motor wasnt assisting, so shift down a gear or two in general and keep your cadence high.