Will my acoustic bike get ridden

Marley

Jan 28, 2021
VA
First off, I've yet to have heard the term acoustic until joining here.

Topic:
I pick up my first EMTB Monday (Trek Rail 7) and have been told by my LBS that I may very well never saddle up on the bikes I currently own ever again.

I've been biking religiously for 30 years and can't imagine the EMTB being this exceptionally appealing but I've never ridden one.

At what rate do you grab your E vs acoustic?

Doomanic

🛠️Wrecker🛠️
Patreon
Founding Member
Jan 21, 2018
UK
I had a Nukeproof Mega 275 when I bought my Powerfly. I kept the Mega for a year for uplift days and didn't do a single one. In fact, the only time the Mega got ridden was one day when the Powerfly had a flat battery and the dog needed a good run so I sold it to a work colleague (the bike, not the dog... :ROFLMAO: )

However, times change and I have an itch that may only be scratched by a rowdy trail bike.

R120

Subscriber
Apr 13, 2018
Surrey
Well it all depends from person to person - For me the EMTB enables me to ride more in a shorter time frame, but if I have a full day available I might take out one of my other bikes.

The EMTB gets ridden the most, but still love my other bikes

Last edited:

Jamze

Jun 30, 2020
Oxfordshire
I still ride both of mine equally. It helps that they are quite different, I did sell another full suss bike that I know I wouldn't have ridden much as it was too similar to the ebike. The hardtail is used a bit like a gravel bike, gets lots of use in the winter.

PXL_20210205_162458990~2.jpg

GMLS

Jun 22, 2020
Surrey
Depends on your motivation.Fitness is a big factor for me and after buying my first emtb, I upgraded my manual bike within weeks as the electric reinvigorated my overall love of the hobby.Both are different but complimentary.

Yoak

Apr 5, 2020
Norway