Help for a Strava newbie - EMTB unfriendly?

Osprey

Aug 11, 2018
South Wales
Hi,

I am new to eMTBing and Strava so sorry for the muppet question.

What is the most straightforward way to exclude myself from the leaderboards when I use my Focus Jam2 while making sure everything is recorded because I want to track my progression (and race my son! :) )

I know you are generally a friendly bunch but in case I get flamed and I have had a look at the search function but couldn't find anything that made sense to me.

Thank you as its driven me mad looking on the iPhone app and the full website.

Cheers,

Alex

Doomanic

🛠️Wrecker🛠️
Patreon
Founding Member
Jan 21, 2018
UK
Change “Sport” to eBike ride

IMG_3393.jpg

IMG_3392.jpg

Unfortunately there is no way to set it as a default.

MattyB

E*POWAH Elite World Champion
Jul 11, 2018
Herts, UK
Be aware though that you cannot compete on non-ebike segments once you have set it to ebike. If your area is like mine you will need to recreate most segments yourself specifically for ebikes. I don’t know why Strava don’t just recreate all the normal segments as ebike ones in the backend themselves.

Last edited:

Injidup

Oct 2, 2018
Perth, Western Australia
I don’t bother changing the sport (didn’t know you could) and if I upset anyone it’s their problem. I did get a 2nd overall on a segment this week when tearing home because my 4 year old had his teeth knocked out. As I get most of my quickest segments when riding solo, I doubt I’ll ever meet anyone who is unhappy about my times. Also, I don’t use Strava to log my ride, it’s synced with my Garmin.

Krisj

Patreon
May 1, 2018
Sheffield
Hi osprey A thing to remember also is Strava doesn’t select ebike ride if you start your ride with an Apple Watch so I start it on my phone and it’s all cool

Gary

Old Tartan Bollocks
Author
Subscriber
Mar 29, 2018
the internet
I just keep strava set to upload to private. (I don't really do social media tho)