Hardtail Haibike

LowStandards

Sep 21, 2020
Uk
Be gentle, I’m new to this emtb business

All my mates have moved to embts And I’m feeling left out. They have all gone for big budget full suspension bikes that I just can’t afford.

I’ve been looking at the HardSeven 8.0 or at a huge push, the AllTrail FLYON 5.0

The question is, how hard can you go on these bikes? I’m not talking anything extreme, they tend to go to Cannock, but I’d like to be able to at least keep up ish.

I’ve never has a fs bike before and have always been fine, but I’m unsure if it’s a good idea with the extra weight?

Anyone got a Hardtail emtb and use it for some decent rough stuff want to give me any advice

Cheers

TheRealPoMo

Apr 18, 2020
Queensland
I reckon I go to the limit of my abilities on my HT. Some (most here) would say that's not far, but the point is I'd be no faster on an FS. More comfortable maybe but if your money is better spent elsewhere and are willing to go a little slower and a little bumper, then just go the HT. I would however recommend a 29er running tubeless 2.6's at least.

billwarwick

E*POWAH Elite
Oct 1, 2018
warwick
I've had a Haibike hardtail for nearly 4 years and its had a hard life, but easily copes with Cannock and other trail centres. Ive got a full suss on order but will still be using the hardtail for shorter outings as the battery is only 400. Hardseven 8 will be fine, but get used to buying cassettes and chains at more regular intervals. The Yamaha motor has been bombproof and not caused me any problems. Go for it.

arawa

Jun 17, 2019
Highlands
I have had a Haibike hardseven with the Yamaha motor for over 4 years and it has been excellent (and faultless) on rough tracks and some pretty rough hill paths - but I do not go looking for challenges! I fitted a Cane Creek Thudbuster that takes the edges off bumps.