New to e-Biking - looking for advice!

Sophie

Apr 16, 2020
East Sussex
Hello, I’m Sophie! I’m new to the e-Bike world and was hoping that I’d be able to get some advice/suggestions on a bike that I’ve seen and am thinking of buying.
I love downhill biking in the Alps but I’m not a fan of the uphills which is predominantly what’s close by to where I live in East Sussex. My boyfriend is bike obsessed and I’d like to be able to go riding with him, but on a bike that will mean I can keep up with him, not struggle too much on the uphills and generally just to have fun on.
I’ve seen the VITUS E-SOMMET VRS E-BIKE XT 1x12 2020 which looks like a good spec for me. The only thing I don’t know much about is the battery/motor so I was wondering if anyone has advice or comments about this, and about the bike in general?
Thanks in advance!
Sophie

Gary

Old Tartan Bollocks
Author
Subscriber
Mar 29, 2018
the internet
Hi Sophie.
There's absolutely tons of info on the bike and motor inj the Vitus section of the forum.
The bike is a very well designed solid 160/170mm enduro style Emtb.
The bike is pretty long and a very capable descender but if spec'd with sensible tyres will be no slouch up and down the tamer terrain of sussex
There's no getting round the extra weight so to control the bike in a similar way to a standard enduro bike a little more rider input is required. Not buying an overly long size also helps massively if you're a playful sort of rider.

What height are you? and what bike do you ride in the alps? What part of the alps and what sort of trails do you like to ride? what sort of rider are you?

#lazy

E*POWAH BOSS
Oct 1, 2019
Surrey
I would suggest have a few bikes in mind then try a test ride from local bike shops because ALL ebikes will have issues more so then a regular bike , so the after sales support should be a factor imo !
I bought me 1st emtb last Oct and am having a blast even now ☺️

Sophie

Apr 16, 2020
East Sussex
Hi Sophie.