New Motor Time

Monkey Dog

Jun 4, 2020
Derbyshire
I periodically kept getting the e010 code, then more often for just over a week.
Then it became permanent. I tried various ways to bring the motor back.
The bike went to JE James at Chesterfield for a diagnosis, it's a sensor & terminal 😒
At 3640 trouble free miles I suppose can't grumble.
Just waiting for Madisons to come back with a price for a new E8000.
Even if it would have been repairable, I've lost confidence with it & would prefer a new motor.

billp91311

Feb 9, 2019
Chatsworth, CA
If you have a battery like mine, I took a pick and pulled the internal connector points out so they make better contact and the code is gone. This may work on internal batteries too but I have no experience with them. Also, I just bought a 2nd hand battery off ebay that was like new that gave me the same issue the first ride out. I adjusted the connectors with my pick and the code has not reappeared since after several rides. This code also happened on my original battery that is almost 6 years old. Same fix on that one. Original motor is still going strong with 3000+ miles on it.

Monkey Dog

Jun 4, 2020
Derbyshire
If you have a battery like mine, I took a pick and pulled the internal connector points out so they make better contact and the code is gone. This may work on internal batteries too but I have no experience with them. Also, I just bought a 2nd hand battery off ebay that was like new that gave me the same issue the first ride out. I adjusted the connectors with my pick and the code has not reappeared since after several rides. This code also happened on my original battery that is almost 6 years old. Same fix on that one. Original motor is still going strong with 3000+ miles on it.
Hmmm, interesting. I had an e020 code on my other bike, which turned out to be what you describe. I cleaned the terminals with contact cleaner & it's not been back since.