Great to join and some advice please !

Link

Nov 22, 2020
Surrey
Hi All,

Great to join the forum, i am new to emtb after being a XC racer for many years i stopped competing a few years back and took up road roading, i have got a bit fed up with that and want to get back into the MTB but not to compete again and just have fun, The concept of the emtb really appeals, seems like the evolution of the sport so going to get a bike. I am based in Surrey so hopefully will be able to get some group rides in (i know Rob is from around here also)

Anyway, i really need some advice, same old question really, i am thinking SL or FF bike, as i am sure you all know that stock of bikes full stop is a limited but i can get a new 2021 SL (maybe that is a good or bad sign!?), anyway, it's not a case of fitness i do plenty of miles still, so its more about the best type of bike for fun, i keep thinking if i am going to buy a emtb it might as well be FF and enjoy that power, almost like a motorcross bike, but then i think the SL with another 250w will be more than enough, looks like a normal bike, is lighter etc and will be a massive hoot after torturing myself on normal mtbs for so many years. What do people think ?

Also what should be my short list for FF, obviously LEvo but i cannot seem to find hardly any in stock, YT have only one model in stock, what about the trek rail ?, anything else ?, is there anything with is halfway between the SL and a LEvo for example slightly less battery and less power ?. I did look for the Orbea rise but they are saying August 2021 for stock !, ouch !, not waiting that long.

Anyway, really appreciate the advice, i am keep to get something before xmas so i can get out and ride, and hopefully meet some of you in the Surrey hills !.

Thanks all

Zimmerframe

MUPPET
Subscriber
Jun 12, 2019
Brittany, France