• Warning!!

Riding a tuned or deristricted EMTB is not a trivial offence and can have serious legal consequences. Also, many manufacturers can detect the use of a tuning device or deristricting method and may decline a repair under warranty if it was modified from the intended original specification. Deristricting EMTB's can also add increased loads for motors and batteries. Riding above the local law limit may reclassify the bike as a low-powered bike, requiring insurance, registration and a number plate.

Be aware of your local country laws. Many laws prohibit use of modified EMTB's. It is your responsibility to check local laws. Ignoring it, has potential implications to trail access, and risk of prosecution in the event of an accident.

UK Pedelec Law

Worldwide Laws

We advise members great caution. EMTB Forums accepts no liability for any content or advice given here. 

Bosch CX Gen 4 - 1.1.5.0 & Volspeed V3

Zaskar20

Aug 17, 2021
UK
Hi, I'm new to eMTB and I just want to know if the combination in the title is possible. If so, are there any experiences so far?
I've only completed around 100 miles so far and it seems to me the Pedelec law speed of 15.5 mph is just short of an ideal speed. I would probably be more than happy with 18-20mph.

Brutal Deluxe

Aug 20, 2021
Melbourne, Australia
Hey, no sorry I’m still in lockdown haha! I’m in Melbourne Australia and we’ve just taken the lead with the city that’s been locked down the longest. 245 days and counting

Rusty

E*POWAH BOSS
Jul 17, 2019
New Zealand
Be aware - when using software like volspeed that details like max powered speed & max assist are recorded on a chip inside your Bosch motor. When they run disgnostices on any issues this shows up and will void your warranty.

Casaibis

Oct 4, 2021
Australia
Completely agree with comment re warranty. I don't live near a Bosch dealer and accept should something go wrong the onus is on me.