BMC Speedfox Amp 3 vs Giant E Trance Pro 2

Larsey

Feb 4, 2018
MN
I have ridden both on pavement. Both medium both fit good.

They are both priced at a killer deal from local shops that I like

2019 Giant has a scratch from shipping on top tube and of course alloy with Yamaha motor/Fox 150mm 140mm

2018 BMC Speedfox 3 is $300 more and has Carbon mainframe with Shimano Steps 8000/RockShox 130mm 130mm

I like the Fox Suspension on the Giant and like the Shimano motor and Carbon mainframe on BMC

Thoughts?

Stock photos

CF22FDC4-AC0B-4B6C-80DD-903340191FBA.jpeg

F987749D-FA6E-4FAB-8C37-94406A4FAB0F.jpeg

Last edited:

DrStupid

E*POWAH Elite World Champion
Patreon
Jul 10, 2019
Pleasureville Ky
Larsey,
I'm a total newbie and will post in the Newbies Hangout next, but I own both of these bikes and thought I could help out... maybe.

Keep in mind, I haven't owned a MTB for about 25 years, and just recently got the e-MTB bug.

My LBS first sold me the Trance e+ Pro1 (size M), and then gave me a killer deal on the Speedfox AMP3 for my wife ;) (Size M).

I imagine the Trance Pro 1and Pro 2 are very close to each other "on the trail" performance wise.

Before I give you my impressions of both bikes, I will state what little changes I have made.

TRANCE: I have cut the bars 1" on the Trance, because my woods riding dirt-bike experience told me they were too wide. This was a mistake after the fact, as the bike feels a little narrow now that I am getting some speed. I also Put a 30mm stem on it, because I read somewhere that this will make it easier to lift the front. This is not true, that I can tell, and the stock 50mm stem will likely go back on soon, as I try to figure out what I like best.