When is an eMTB too heavy?

irie

E*POWAH Elite World Champion
Subscriber
May 2, 2022
Chichester, W.Sussex, UK
As @Plummet has said, it's when it's too heavy to lift over a fence especially towards the end of a ride when running out of energy.

For me (as for Plummet) thats when the bike weighs over 26kg. Few weeks ago decided our 2022 (alloy) Rail 5's were getting too heavy so been putting them on a weight loss diet. Starting with deleting the locks etc. from Rolf Herzog (eBay).

Last edited:

Weeksy

Dec 13, 2019
Reading
I managed to get my mates Rail over a fence on Sat about 4'6" high, to be honest it was right on the border of viable. His is a Rail7 so not the lightest

Dax

May 25, 2018
FoD
Much past 25kg seems like too much for me, but a bigger part is how it rides. E.g. E160rsx is dogshit, but I don’t think it’s because it’s 26+kg, just a really dull bike.

Last edited:

mustclime

Apr 19, 2023
New Jerzy
When I started riding my Kenevo expert I really struggled throwing that pig around. Back when dinosaurs walked the earth, l rode 125 and 250 dirt bikes with some friends. We had a saying, the bike is never to heavy, you are just too weak. Sooooo, I started upper body training with some squats thrown in for good measure and now Kenevo does not feel so heavy anymore.😀

GL1

Oct 22, 2020
Golden, Colorado USA
When is an e bike to heavy? When is weighs more than a 400 dirt bike.
This! I used to ride a LOT of moto in the Rockies and no eBike seems too heavy after trying to get out of some of the boulder fields and other jams we got in with dirt bikes.