Upgrading SC-E5000 ... to what, where, how?

GigalithineButhulne

Apr 12, 2024
Sweden
Hi, newbie here, bear with the long missive:

I own an e-bike with a Shimano E6100 drive, and it was sold with the basic SCE-5000 display with no bluetooth magic or anything. It's fine and does the job more or less. eBikes, especially this set-up, are particularly popular in Sweden as commuter biking infrastructure is a LOT better than in North America. But despite its popularity, I don't see many people upgrading the display or doing particularly interesting upgrades otherwise from the basic models. (Probably a sign that eBikes have become an ordinary commodity.)

What I would like in terms of function: to have a clock on the controller (it's a nuisance to look for church steeples or mall displays to check the time when I'm in a hurry to get to a meeting), a more fine-grained power usage display (the "remaining km" estimates on the SCE-5000 are absolutely bonkers), more fine-grained usage tracking, option to connect to a smartphone app for even more tracking, DIY firmware upgrade, option to connect to a GPS, etc. Custom power modes would be nice (something between ECO and TRAIL), but I gather this is just not supported by E6100.