Tubeless tape... wtf am I doing wrong?

emtbPhil

Jun 20, 2021
UK
I'll start this by saying I'm 42, I'm a good mechanic, spent 20 years building track & race cars. I have a garage FULL of bike tools and I'm happy doing jobs like dropping motors out to repair wiring, changing forks, everything really...

However I have my flame proof suit on and I'm more than happy to get some "you bloody idiot" comments cos this is driving me mad

Only been MTB'ing for 18 months - went to a tubeless setup on my first emtb hardtail, then again on my full sus. Today just got new tyres so ripped my old ones out and redid it. EVERY TIME I apply the tape I have the same issue..

It pisses air out the spokes!

I tried last year with muc-off tape, 30mm (inside dimension is 30mm), it refused to really go down into the recess where the spoke holes are and I guess as such pissed air out the spokes. I went through a whole roll of tape trying both wheels twice, gave up and used gorilla tape. With the gorilla tape it went into the recess easily, still leaked air out the spokes but after a day I guess the liquid gunked it up enough to stop and worked fine for a year.

Then I got the full suspension bike, bought new tyres, bought a roll of muc off tape - exactly the same issue, threw the whole lot in the bin and put gorilla tape on.
This time I've had to remove the gorilla tape to swap tyres and it took an entire day of swearing and a litre of isopropyl alcohol to get the gunk off that the gorilla tape left behind and most of the spoke holes were gunked up with sealant.
So I decided to try "doing it properly again"
This time bought Stans tape just for a change and went 33mm as the LBS (who bent me over for £22 for the tape) told me to go a few mm wider.
Same issue, tape is rigid as hell, no stretch, refuses to go into the recess.