Shimano warranty is transferable.

CJaMTB

May 9, 2020
Dartmoor
Hey all, I'm an independent mechanic and eMTB rider. One of my bikes was bought 2nd hand, only 7 months old, and has an E7000 motor. Unfortunately, the motor developed an irreparable fault and the original vendor refused to honour the warranty. Thankfully, through my business accounts, I was able to get written confirmation, from Shimano, that their 2yr warranty IS transferable, as long as you have the original purchase receipt. This was contrary to what I was originally told by Madison, who are the UK service centre for Shimano. However, the Madison warranty dept are now fully aware of the official Shimano global position.

I hope this is useful/helpful to anyone looking to buy/sell within that 2yr period.

Happy trails all.

Gary

Old Tartan Bollocks
Author
Subscriber
Mar 29, 2018
the internet
TBF all Madison ask for from a shop is a copy of the original purchase receipt when accepting any Shimano warranty claim. Not the customers name/details.

Care to share your written confirmation?

steve_sordy

Wedding Crasher
Nov 5, 2018
Lincolnshire, UK
That is all I've ever been asked for before when claiming for anything Shimano. The warranty is two years I believe, but I didn't realise that it was transferable on anything, let alone high value items like a motor.

CJaMTB

May 9, 2020
Dartmoor
TBF all Madison ask for from a shop is a copy of the original purchase receipt when accepting any Shimano warranty claim. Not the customers name/details.

Care to share your written confirmation?
Here you go Gary, came from Shimano UK:

Thanks for raising this, I have spoken with our Warranty Dept and they have sought clarification from Shimano themselves

Who sent us the following:

….We are not stating second-hand product are not covered but do state the original invoice or receipt is needed to make a valid claim.