Newbie Help Please, puncture

Flog

Subscriber
Apr 19, 2020
Dorset / Somerset Border
Morning All. Just walked in to the office and bike has a total flat on the front.... now as I'm an absolute virgin, 5 days since received - I'm still learning the ins and outs!
For a puncture, in my day, take out the inner tube with some bent spoons and dunk in fairy liquid water, dry, glue, patch and chalk, remount, pump and off you go.
Now what's the score with tubeless?? I have the Maxxis Rekons
Just pumped up and within 5 minutes already softer.... What to do??

IMG_8829.JPG

R120

Subscriber
Apr 13, 2018
Surrey
Firstly is is set up tubeless? A lot of bikes even if tubeless ready will still come with an inner tube.

If set up tubeless, it won't have an inner tube, and should have sealant in the tyre. Usually if you have had a puncture you would see some of the sealant where the puncture is (white gunk)

Modern MTB tyres can be a bastard to get on an off, bent spoons won't do the trick, and may damage the rime too.

As an aside, the Rekons are not the strongest tyre, I would swap out for a tougher tyre with a stronger casing.

R120

Subscriber
Apr 13, 2018
Surrey
Tubeless ready just means that it can be set up tubeless - check with the shop you got it from if it is

steve_sordy

Wedding Crasher
Nov 5, 2018
Lincolnshire, UK
Unless you asked for it to be set up tubeless, I'd bet money that it won't be.
If you want to stay with tubes, then you need to go tougher (tyres, tubes, maybe armour). Or you could just go tubeless. Loads of stuff on the internet on how to do that, and on here.

Warning: It is harder than experienced people make it look, but waaaaay easier to do than first-timers make it look!. The key is an Airshot tubeless tyre inflater, or similar.