New Canyon Neuron:ON CF with Bosch motor!

ItsMeMicke

May 15, 2023
Sweden
Just saw this, Canyon has released a new Neuron:ON CF with the Bosch motor 😛👍

AL versions seems to still have the Shimano motor.

yarg

Feb 23, 2023
French Alps
A few weeks ago I received my Neuron:ON 7 with the Shimano motor and now this one is released... :unsure:

While searching for a bike and doing test rides, I found that I preferred the Bosch motor, but equivalent models to the Neuron:ON were out of my price range; I got the AL Neuron:ON 7 for 3600 euros. This new CF version is 4999, so 1400 euros of difference. I could still send the AL one back and buy this new one, but as I'm a newbie to eMTB, could anyone help please in figuring out if that 1400 euro increase is "worth it"?

I'm sure it's subjective to a degree: I expect to pay some hundreds of euros more for having the Bosch motor I originally wanted, the extra 125w battery, but for the rest, when I compare the other components, there are some areas where it's exactly the same and some where they've changed, and I don't know how similar/better/(worse?) the new version may be compared to the old?

Since I'm so ignorant I'm just looking for help to understand the differences please. For reference, I'm mainly looking to do long tours exploring the mountains where I live; a mix of tarred road to get from home to the mountain, then forest roads/paths and trails in the mountains. No jumping planned, and no great speed planned either (previous broken ribs from a MTB fall has left me a bit too cautious now 😬) The main idea is just to use the eMTB to get out and explore (and hopefully get more fit while doing so!)

Thanks very much for your help/thoughts!

yarg

Feb 23, 2023
French Alps