Merida eOne-Sixty sizing

Joss

Hello everyone. I'm new here and on the verge of buying an eOne-Sixty. If you don't mind, I'd just like to ask a couple of questions.
First of all, sizing - are there any pearls of wisdom out there regarding the fit of these bikes? At 5'8 I'd expect to be on a medium but a friend who has a non-powered Merida runs a large (he's the same height). I know preference can come into it but I've no experience as to the effect of the extra mass and its impact on handling - perhaps there isn't any. Anyway, I've typically been riding bikes with a reach of 435mm-ish so expect a medium would be fine.
Secondly, is there much difference in the ride experience between the 800 & 900? Whilst fitting a Fox X2 transformed my Orange, I wondered if the gains were as profound between the two Merida options. I'm also familiar with the Fox 36 having had them on my last two bikes but would certainly entertain the Yari on the 800 given the saving if benefits weren't felt elsewhere.

Thanks for your time and any advice you can offer.

Joss

ChrisB NZ

Aug 21, 2018
Auckland, New Zealand
Hi Joss. I'm just a tad shorter than you and have a medium 800. It fits and rides really well. My wife, who is about 5' 5" also rides a medium. She probably should have a small but I couldn't find one!

I haven't ridden a 900 (like hen's teeth) but the 800 is awesome. I guess if you are a hard core enduro/down hill rider you would benefit from the Fox - but the Yari is still a really good shock. I might have been tempted to get the 900 if one was available - but really happy with my 800. I guess it comes down to money. The 800 is a great bike but the 900 has the edge in components.

Maybe some of the hard core guys can pitch in with their views.

ChrisB NZ

Aug 21, 2018
Auckland, New Zealand