Fox 38 forks harsh, budget damper issues

pampmyride

Dec 28, 2020
Sussex Massif
Allmtn 7 + Fox 38 forks. Anyone else finding these forks harsh? I'm up to 250 miles on it now & a recent ride on my P bike -with rockshox lyric forks has shown me how rough the Fox fork is. I've no experience of Fox forks before & it seems the Haibike has come with a budget version. It has the Fit4 damper & it just feels every bump small & large. I've tried removing the token/spacers one by one and in the car park test they feel great, but hit the rooty singletrack & it's numb hands & arm fatigue. The damper settings are full open of course. Is the unadjustable high speed damping too much? 12 stone rider trying 75-85 psi.....Any ideas ?

Mteam

E*POWAH Elite
Aug 3, 2020
gone
The damper settings are full open of course. Is the unadjustable high speed damping too much? 12 stone rider trying 75-85 psi.....Any ideas ?

Having the rebound set to full open won't be good, it will feel like a pogo stick.

pampmyride

Dec 28, 2020
Sussex Massif
Compression open, rebound 5 clicks from open. Reading up on Fox forks... it seems some come with too much grease in the wrong place. I'll strip & have a look. Have ordered a shaft vice clamp to do this as 38's air side is more complex than other forks I've had apart.

head

Jul 2, 2020
Slovakia
I have a new (less than a week old) Fox 38 factory and it's not working as expected. I too suspect too much grease in the air leg. Also compression setting doesn't work as there is no difference between open/closed positions. In this case, there isn't probably enough oil in the damper leg (I'm just guessing). I hope to get it fixed this week.

Cb750stu

Subscriber
Nov 6, 2020
United Kingdom
I've got the 38 performance ones on my new Orbea , first thing I did was clean out the globs of grease in the neg chamber and fitted a Luftkappe , made a big difference as it always does , I like the grip damper it's not the latest grip2 but it's good ,