Levo Gen 2 Does the stock Rockshox Deluxe just completely suck?

1rider

May 2, 2021
Cape Ann
I have a 2020 Levo. I am not a newbie to shock setup, but I have always had Fox shocks. This Deluxe is not impressing me, the only way I can get an acceptable ride out of it is to run it at 40% sag which is not ideal. If I have more PSI then the ride is too harsh and anti-linear. I realize this is not a high end or really even a middle of the pack shock, I just find it hard to believe that Specialized would spec something that can’t perform better.

What’s the verdict? Is there anyway to get good performance out of this shock?

Cheers!

Specfan

Apr 11, 2021
Toronto, Canada
I have a 2020 Levo. I am not a newbie to shock setup, but I have always had Fox shocks. This Deluxe is not impressing me, the only way I can get an acceptable ride out of it is to run it at 40% sag which is not ideal. If I have more PSI then the ride is too harsh and anti-linear. I realize this is not a high end or really even a middle of the pack shock, I just find it hard to believe that Specialized would spec something that can’t perform better.

What’s the verdict? Is there anyway to get good performance out of this shock?

Cheers!
I am not thrilled with mine, but to put it into perspective, I did buy the base model Levo. The Rockshox 35 suffered from pretty bad stiction and I just didn’t like the feel so I replaced it with a Fox 36. Now the front is done I’m thinking of swapping the Rockshox deluxe select with a Fox DPS. I don’t think the shock is as bad as the fork, but a fox upgrade would he nice, as is the compression damping adjustment. Rebound only on the base Rockshox deluxe. ?

Specfan

Apr 11, 2021
Toronto, Canada
Rockshox recommends service every 50 hours of riding and I'm not there yet. :) I did service the fork but nothing much changed. It's not poor performance with the shock, it's that I'd like some compression damping adjustment like my new fork.

Planemo

E*POWAH Elite
Mar 12, 2021