Just noticed this when I was cleaning my cube wot to you guys think

IMG_20200818_131817.jpg

IMG_20200818_130313.jpg

IMG_20200818_130216.jpg

steve_sordy

Wedding Crasher
Nov 5, 2018
Lincolnshire, UK
How the hell did it get scratched in there? :unsure: That must be one of the best protected locations on your bike, excepting the insides of the tubes.

Unless you have a convincing explanation of how it could have received that scratch in that location, then I would be forced to conclude that it was a crack. :cry:

I would take it back to the to LBS. If you bought on-line, then a photo and an email should capture their attention.

PS: What are all those little hairy white bits all over the frame (last two pics)? Are they broken fibres from your CF frame?

Beekeeper

🍯Honey Monster🍯
Aug 6, 2019
Surrey hills
I’m no expert but looks like a deep scratch and not a crack from the photo so hopefully not a structural problem. I’d keep an eye on it to see if any cracks develop however.

IanVersion2

Jun 12, 2020
Stroud, Glos, UK
I'd be tempted to say it's a manufacturing defect which has always been there (though perhaps previously filled with paint), not sure what that means for your next move though.

MsO

Dec 11, 2018
swindon
Ya I was thinking scratch I reckon a stone got in there and the movement of the suspension crushed it against the frame on the first photo the metal plate has got a Mark on it as well

MsO

Dec 11, 2018
swindon
How the hell did it get scratched in there? :unsure: That must be one of the best protected locations on your bike, excepting the insides of the tubes.

Unless you have a convincing explanation of how it could have received that scratch in that location, then I would be forced to conclude that it was a crack. :cry:

I would take it back to the to LBS. If you bought on-line, then a photo and an email should capture their attention.