Yamaha PW-X - Giant Trance e+ 2019 - Stripped Flywheel - Motor Replacement

biker23

Nov 14, 2020
Sydney
This is the result of a pedal strike - $1,800 AUD - Thankfully covered by insurance.
I have found the COG for $700 Pounds - But didn't appear to be readily available. Thinking of using a 3D printer

Any thoughts out there

IMG-20201105-WA0001.jpg

Last edited:

KuRi

May 30, 2019
Spain
Wow! What was your feelings? How did you know something got broken?

I can't suggest 3d printing... at least not home 3d printing. I have some experience with them and I don't think the piece will last for long and won't be perfect shape...

biker23

Nov 14, 2020
Sydney
Wow! What was your feelings? How did you know something got broken?

I can't suggest 3d printing... at least not home 3d printing. I have some experience with them and I don't think the piece will last for long and won't be perfect shape...
Yes a little shocked - Intitally though Warranty, but it was a pretty hard knock - Poor design in my opinion.

When the cog and drive pin got to the point it just free spun.

Yes I agree on the 3d printing - I wouldn't have thought you could have Nylon that strong - Apparently they are available to replace in the UK for 700 pounds - So $1,400 AUD.

Pdoz

E*POWAH Elite World Champion
Feb 16, 2019
Maffra Victoria Australia
If you're in Australua, can you approach giant Australua and see if they have that gear in any returned motors or if they could sell you a used one from a warranty motor?

Even if you waited until they got in the replacement motor for someone who is currently awaiting a warranty motor.....

ps Where in oz are you? Anywhere near stealth in springvale vic? I suspect they would have contacts who can build helical cut gears out of stronger material if you want to

biker23

Nov 14, 2020
Sydney