What if i get a flat with tubeless tyre?

apac

E*POWAH Elite World Champion
Aug 14, 2019
S.Wales
Ive just bought a turbo levo and my lbs offered a free tubless upgrade... Sounded good so i went for it. Always previously using tubes and happy to change in the field, What happens now if i get a flat? Can i still put an innertube in the tyre? If so, what do i need to do that might might be different?

E*POWAH Elite
Aug 14, 2019
Norfolk
Did they not offer to sell you a tyre plug kit? Pretty poor sales if they didn't..:(

Mine offered a tubeless upgrade also - I only took it, once they'd agreed to an additional, free plug kit, as part of the 'upgrade'..

Should you wish to fit a tube, you'll need to remove the tubeless valve first..or carry a 'plug kit'.. which would be more compact, than a spare tube.

Hope this helps..

JetSetDemo

🍦Two Scoops🍦
Patreon
Apr 1, 2018
Ashby de la Zouch
I have been running tubeless for 3 years now, only had 1 puncture and the sealant worked as designed. I used a CO2 canister and it inflated the tyre no issues and the hole was sealed. I think pinch flats maybe another issue and I would have had to put a tube in. Luckily for me the hole was not large enough to need a plug (metal staple punctured my minion DHR2 2.8)

paquo

Jul 31, 2018
usa
carry a spare tube same as before so if the pump/co2 doesn't help it seal up. I used to get flats not infrequently on my xcountry bike because of the thin tires but not on the levo with burlier rubber. Sidewall tears are hard to seal. Also disposable nitrile gloves and a bit of paper towel doesn't hurt

apac

Aug 14, 2019
S.Wales
carry a spare tube same as before so if the pump/co2 doesn't help it seal up. I used to get flats not infrequently on my xcountry bike because of the thin tires but not on the levo with burlier rubber. Sidewall tears are hard to seal. Also disposable nitrile gloves and a bit of paper towel doesn't hurt

Thanks.

steve_sordy

Wedding Crasher
Nov 5, 2018
Lincolnshire, UK