What are you riding with - Flats vs Clips?

What are you riding with - Flats vs Clips?

• Flats

Votes: 89 70.1%
  • Clips

Votes: 38 29.9%

• Total voters

Chubba

Sep 17, 2019
Cape Town, South Africa
Interested to hear who is riding with what and why?

I've been on clips since i started riding MTB's but as I try more technical stuff with jumps, I'm wondering if I need to switch.

Funkeydunk

Subscriber
May 28, 2019
Uk
I tried to go back to flats, but I literally kept jumping off the bike. I got into several scrapes due to flats, smacked shins for one. Also slipping around made me nervous on the bike. So I went back to clipless. just my preference.

RichKenevo

Nov 6, 2019
UK
Clips on hardtail and full sus, tried flats on the Kenevo yesterday and didn't like it, pedal change tonight!

JCB

Oct 7, 2019
Burnie, Tasmania
Riding flats on the ebike and clips on the xc bike.
When trying technical climbs that i will bail off, flats give me less worries that I will stay clipped in.
I still crashed and stayed clipped in on my xc bike too many times, elbows hurt.

Swan

Oct 19, 2019
North Idaho, US
Clips on everything.. Including the Dirt jump and BMX bikes. Once you get used to unclipping, it becomes second nature and there is no issues. I have done a few dozen backflips in my dirt jump days, and all of them were clipped in, and I was able to throw flips and 360s away comfortably and still be able to get away from the bike while running clipless setups..

One of my favorite moves on the DH bike is doing nac nacs while running clips. You unclip as you leave the jump, drape the leg over the rear wheel and then bring everything back and you will clip back in right as you land! Good fun! Also suicide no handers are so much easier with clips.. You can push the bike away from you and then pull it back using your feet instead of having to pinch with the knees.. Kinda cheating, but makes it easy to throw huge no handers.