Tyre on back to front

steve_sordy

Wedding Crasher
Nov 5, 2018
Lincolnshire, UK
I swear that I have never done this before, but my newly mounted tyre is on back to front. I haven't ridden it yet and to be honest I really can't be arsed to take it off and refit right now. It has 130ml of fresh sealant in there too. What a muppet! :(

It's a WTB Vigilante 29x2.6 TCS Light High Grip with TriTec compound and Slash Guard. Fitted to a 30mm inside width rim. It's on the front wheel.

I have had a close look at the tread and the centre blocks have only a slight ramp, which of course is now facing the wrong way! The outer blocks are not ramped and they do not appear to be directional, apart from the angle of the sipes of course. Take a look at the pic below. I know that on hard ground my rolling resistance will be slightly increased, but what about the braking? I will have ramps facing the ground, instead of vertical blocks. Comments anyone: safe to ride or a disaster? I know that I ought to swap it over and I definitely will, sooner or later. But should it be sooner rather than later?

WTB Vigilante.jpg

Tim1023

Aug 25, 2020
Hamburg, Germany
Looks like it's much more than the ramps that are directional. If you're going near any mud, I'd change it.
Then again, I know bugger all about tyres and just use the stock ones...

Zimmerframe

MUPPET
Subscriber
Jun 12, 2019
Brittany, France
I'm gona say that for straight line, you won't lose any acceleration traction from the block shape (it being on the front), and the extra drag from the none ramps will be off set by the removal of compression funnelling between the twin blocks. Straight line braking will be slightly improved.

As you transition, they won't dig in quite as well as the leading corners of the transition knobs are in shadow of the side knobs. So I think you'll lose a small amount of grip in the transition phase as the tyre will be every so slightly more inclined to rise over the earth rather than bite in.