Soon to be EMTB rider in need of suggestions.

wenna

Aug 1, 2023
Sweden
Hey all, I´m in need of some guidance for buying my first EMTB.

I never considered an E-bike before, but developed complications from an injury 5 years ago and have not been able to ride for the last 5 years.
Now my physical therapy is starting to show results but I´m still a long way from being able to take my mtb out on the trails. So this is where I started thinking about an E-bike that could get me out into the woods earlier (hopefully as early as next summer).

My background is I grew up on dirtbikes racing motocross for over 20 years. MTB for me has been trail riding for some fun cardio workout.

My current trail bike is a Santa Cruz Hightower 29er with 135mm rear and 150mm fork. I really like this bike and it fits well to the type of riding I do around where Iive.

I am 178cm tall with long legs and short torso (85,5 inseam).
The SC Hightower is a size L with 450mm reach and has been fitting me really well. Any bike with a shorter reach starts feeling cramped when standing, but it still needs to be quite short when seated because of my short torso. So I guess the bike needs quite steep seattube angle and short top tube?

Like I said I do mostly trail riding and 150mm suspension is enough for the trails I ride, but with a background in motocross I do like to go hard when it gets rough and going downhill. So I was thinking that with an EMTB maybe I could afford longer travel even if I rarely need it?

The bikes I´m keeping an eye on are:
- Canyon Strive ON (Has longer reach but still quite short when seated, but thinking maybe 170mm travel is overkill?)
- Canyon Spectral ON
- YT Decoy MX
- YT Decoy 29
- Cube Stereo Hybrid 140
- Cube Stereo Hybrid 160

So Trail or Enduro?
Any other bikes recommended or other tips?

steve_sordy

Wedding Crasher
Nov 5, 2018
Lincolnshire, UK