Shimano E8000

sauravgartaula

Founding Member
Jan 15, 2018
Most of the new ebikes that I see at ebike magazines have Shimano E8000 motor nowadays.

Is Shimano ruling over the other motors or is it that they are quick and large manufacturers?
focus-jam2-carbon-e-mountainbike-e-mtb-e-bike-test-review-9-von-27-1140x760.jpg

This bike looks great. I was reading its review and that question arose in my mind :v
I'm a beginner. If this was a silly question, please do tell :D

sauravgartaula

Founding Member
Jan 15, 2018
I have the 2017 Jam2 what would you like to know?
Wow, it seems that you have a great ebike. Can you tell me about its specifications and your opinion on its performance and whether or not should I be recommended to buy this bike?
Thank you!

njn

Founding Member
Mar 14, 2018
USA
Shimano nailed it with a narrow q factor and standard size chainring while allowing short chainstay lengths.

Eckythump

Founding Member
Jan 16, 2018
North Yorkshire
Wow, it seems that you have a great ebike. Can you tell me about its specifications and your opinion on its performance and whether or not should I be recommended to buy this bike?
Thank you!
From what I have seen of your previous post your rides are more tours of the spectacular scenery where you live. The Jam2 is more about Enduro style riding of climbing up and hammering down. It is lightweight with a small battery more aimed at handling and jumping than touring. The piggy back battery doubles the range but is an additional cost. It is a really good option if you ride a regular bike hard for two or three hour sessions.

Varaxis

Founding Member
Feb 5, 2018
California, USA
I'll add on to what others have said.

I like how the handlebar display is nicely tucked away from damage (can flip the bike over onto the saddle and grips without the display being in the way).

I also like the steel chainring. I imagine alloy rings would be pricey and wear out quickly.