Safety Equipment: Help! What to wear for my riding style?

More-read-than-ride

Patreon
Jan 3, 2019
Spain
I need your help:

What safety gear should I consider a part from the obvious helmet?

I am a father, over 40, 185cm and 95kgs. I have ridden bikes all my life but I am new to mtb and emtb.
I used to ride very conservatively but have found that the the emtb gives me confidence to do more things like small jumps (less than 1m), speed gravel descents (40-50 km/h) and medium speed rocky, dry single trail, bunny hops etc. I live in Valencia, Spain where it is dry dirt and rocky. No mud. Speed is not my main concern, rather having fun and learning technique.

So far I have never had a real crash , but I want to push a little more.

¿What do you recommend?
I guess knee pads and/or elbow pads make sense but should I go even further or less? What is logical and what is overkill?

Thanks in advance for your help

Be safe!

steve_sordy

Wedding Crasher
Nov 5, 2018
Lincolnshire, UK
A trail helmet (one that goes further down the side and back of the head rather than an XC lid) would be a good start. I have broken every helmet I have ever owned except the two current ones, so do not try to do without.

I have been using knee & shin guards and elbow guards for years. Initially I was put off wearing them as I stupidly thought that only good riders would be going fast enough to need them. But after accumulating one too many scars and one too many warnings from the physiotherapist about shoulder damage, I became converted. I didn't go for the full on hard shell DH guards, instead I went for some all day breathable kit from the Troy Lee Shock Doctor range. Flexible, not sweaty, washable, and they really make a difference. They will save you from some serious gravel rash on those Spanish trails you ride. Coming off on those at 40-50 kph will be like landing on a cheese grater! :eek: