New Pinion integrated gearbox and motor (MGU)

Stoneilove

Jan 27, 2023
England

HGmtb

Patreon
Jan 16, 2019
Sydney
They could have mounted the final drive separately and higher so potentially you could do away with the tensioner, though I guess someone could run the drive upto a second pulley - depending on the suspension setup.
I agree - the belt tensioner needs to be far better resolved for eMTB's.

mtbant

Oct 30, 2021
uk
I've been riding a pinion gearbox mtb for over 5 years and it's brilliant. Really hope that these gain traction with more brands.
Can't wait to try one, if you can get one in the UK that is!

ggx

Dec 10, 2018
Sintra
Looks like a game changer. It´s the 1st generation , I supose with room to improve. Sram, Shimano shoulf be worry :unsure:
Let´s see prices, more models , brands, etc ...

Mikerb

E*POWAH Elite World Champion
May 16, 2019
Weymouth
Finally, innovation that is functional and has mechanical integrity......and one that promises tangible benefits as opposed to simple aesthetics. I look forward to a test ride review. I could see no negatives in that design although obviously it remains to be proven to be as robust as the guy claims.

One thing you did not cover Rob was the likely price point for a fully fledged EMTB incorporating the Pinion system..............but based on the information so far in that video I am certainly interested.

Pyr0

E*POWAH Master
Sep 22, 2019
Wirral, UK
It does sound quite noisy in the lower gears, but the tradeoff is better power efficiency, apparently.
I definitely think it's a step in the right direction. I don't know if I'm likely to buy a first gen tho. I'd like to see if it lives up to the longevity claims first. A simple oil change once a year or every 10000 miles sounds fantastic.
Looking at the brands of bikes it seems unlikely I'd see one in a local shop anyway :(

Has anyone seen any mention of water proofing or dust/water ratings?

irie

Subscriber
May 2, 2022
Chichester, W.Sussex, UK