Motor drag? What's all the fuss?

Akiwi

🐸 Kermit Elite 🐸
Feb 6, 2019
Olching, Germany
I am constantly hearing about "Motor drag" and how so many people put so much emphasis on this when selecting their e-bikes. I have been riding e-Mountain bikes for 2 years now. I started with the Focus Jam 2 with Shimano motor for 1 year, and then changed to a Cube 160 Race with Bosch motor, and I realy don't notice any difference. I accept that because of the gearbox, there is probably a little more drag, but I can't notice it.
I ride a huge amount with the motor off, as I tend to try to extend my battery life as much as possible, or give myself a workout as much as possible. If it's flat, then toggle to off. If there is a hill, then toggle to Eco to make life easy. Then when the going gets tough, use the other modes.
Are there any actual statistics as to how much drag a bosh motor creates? I think I remember reading 4% somewhere, which is probably less than most people can feel, particularly on Fat + sized soft compound tires.
Just thought I'd say.

All Mountain Coaching

E*POWAH Elite
Oct 3, 2018
GB
I can definitely feel it. It's a little inconsistent too. Depends on speed and cadence. Sometimes it's as if the more you pedal, the more it slows you down. I've also noticed that when you stop pedalling to freewheel, it speeds up, so there is definitely resistance.

I had to pedal with it off for sometime yesterday as the bike turned off and would not turn back on

ggx

Dec 10, 2018
Sintra
Hi,
usualy I ride in assist modes (bosch cx), but yesterday made lot´s off riding in off. The big drag I feel is the increased weight, expecialy when uphill .

Akiwi

🐸 Kermit Elite 🐸
Feb 6, 2019
Olching, Germany
I can definitely feel it. It's a little inconsistent too. Depends on speed and cadence. Sometimes it's as if the more you pedal, the more it slows you down. I've also noticed that when you stop pedalling to freewheel, it speeds up, so there is definitely resistance.