Mission Control App - what do you think? What would you change? What could be better?

Tetsugaku

Founding Member
Mar 4, 2018
Brighton uk
I think it's like something from 2010. It's so bad it's barely functional.

So a few caveats before I start...

Specialized are not a software company. I understand I should moderate my expectations.

I am a consultant user experience designer with 20 years in the trade (basically, I design this stuff for a living). My opinion is assuredly not what yours is!

I'm toying with the idea of redesigning the thing professionally and just sending Specialized the design to see if they want to take any notice!

However, just having my ideas - that would be terrible, arrogant and is something professionally we never do, so I'd like to get some baseline ideas from other users.

AWESOME
- Granular control of the bike
- It has stats

NOT AWESOME
- Impossible to edit the dashboard before you've hit the start button
- Defaults to maps, not to key metrics
- Generally ugly and heard to read
- Route planning, or really, finding where you're going to is really tough
- Combined map / key metrics view is terrible, metrics are too small to see whilst you're riding
- No integration with Apple health (not sure about Android)
- Stats are ugly

So how about you? What's on your AWESOME / NOT AWESOME list?

ccrdave

E*POWAH Elite World Champion
Patreon
Founding Member
Jan 16, 2018
uk
NOT AWSOME
its crap and the worst for me is if you want to change something half way through a ride you open mission control, the first thing it wants to do is log on. No phone signal in the woods and your stuffed!
if you do a rewrite it please send me a copy.
I would say there are other apps out there Eplus, Blevo, Zworks, Eplus is the closest to a rewrite of mission control, not perfect but miles better than the specialized offering

Tetsugaku

Founding Member
Mar 4, 2018
Brighton uk