Learning MTB-Speak. Today's lesson, mid stroke support

RebornRider

May 31, 2019
NorCal USA
Let's suppose I am a product design engineer who recently joined a bike company to work on a new mountain bike design. Let's also suppose I got interested in enduro style riding recently (as opposed to fire roads), so I'm not sure what people mean when they use terms such as "mid stroke support", which appears in just about every review of mtbs and mtb suspension products.

If I want to design a rear suspension that provides good mid-stroke support, what design choices should I make? Does "good mid-stroke support" mean a relatively high spring rate in the middle of the travel? Does it mean high (hard, stiff) compression damping in the middle of the stroke? How does rebound damping affect mid-stroke support?

In general, how would you guys describe mid-stroke support in terms of suspension design?

(BTW, I'm not designing a bike. I just want to learn.)

Mikerb

E*POWAH Elite World Champion
May 16, 2019
Weymouth
Mid stroke in general is the majority of the shock or fork travel............referred to as mid only to differentiate from the "top" of the stroke mostly absorbed by SAG and the final part of the stroke reserved for the hardest/highest hits you are likely to come across in line wwith how you set up your suspension. So people want the top of the stroke to be plush, the mid stroke ( ie most of the rest of the stroke) to absord the terrain and not burst through the travel, then the last part of the travel reserved for big hits and to a void the suspension bottoming out.
Since all air suspension is progressive it should of course be possible to use whatever user controls are provided to achieve all of that, although invariably it is only only the higher end models it becomes more achievable.