I'm finally legal!

RebornRider

May 31, 2019
NorCal USA
I've posted many times about my "regular ride", which is mostly inside Pleasanton Ridge Regional Park in California, USA. I've been riding my Turbo Levo there for 4 years despite the fact that doing so is technically illegal.

I remember stopping in the parking lot to tell a park employee about a downed tree blocking one of the trails. At the end of a long, friendly chat he said with a smile, "You know, your bike isn't allowed on these trails." I replied, "I've got to be going home now." We both had a chuckle and I rode home.

I just learned that the obsolete rule against emtbs is changing. Yay! Progress!

1702408113787.png

BTW, I may, on occasion, exceed 15 mph, but only coasting downhill. :cool:

Stihldog

Handheld Power Tool
Subscriber
Jun 10, 2020
Coquitlam, BC
That’s good news. We may not have the same type of enforcement that you have but it’s reassuring that regulators are beginning to understand.

Our bikes are limited to 32kmh or 20mph, but rarely do I exceed 15mph on our trails (but that may be possible sometimes??).

There are designated areas for hiking and MTBing but both groups ignore that. Everyone plays well together.

Ps; I hope you’re not texting this from jail. 😉

Streddaz

Jul 7, 2022
Tasmania
I've posted many times about my "regular ride", which is mostly inside Pleasanton Ridge Regional Park in California, USA. I've been riding my Turbo Levo there for 4 years despite the fact that doing so is technically illegal.

I remember stopping in the parking lot to tell a park employee about a downed tree blocking one of the trails. At the end of a long, friendly chat he said with a smile, "You know, your bike isn't allowed on these trails." I replied, "I've got to be going home now." We both had a chuckle and I rode home.

View attachment 130644

That's good news. Finally, some regulators are realising that Class 1 bikes are no worse than normal bikes.

CraigR

Aug 10, 2020
Livermore, Ca