• How to use this section. To the thread starter: Once you are satisfied with the answer that youve been given, click the Trophy on the left hand side of the message. This will rate this answer as the 'Best Answer' and will change the question status from 'Unanswerd' to 'Answered'. All members can also upvote an answer with the 'Up' arrow, this will help identify the best answer.

Gym goers, need some advice - arm pump

dobbyhasfriends

🌹Old Bloke 🎸
Subscriber
Sep 19, 2019
Llandovery, Wales
to all you lot that hit the gym..
I have been doing 4-5 days a week for about 4-5 months now and love it, fitter, stronger etc..

one downside is that most lifting involves gripping and this involves forearms and that is causing me savage arm pump when I go riding, especially on steep tech.

is there any way around this?

Spangoolies

Nov 5, 2022
UK
Maybe try adjusting your controls a bit. I recently started getting myself fit again and had a trip to BPW a couple of weeks ago where I suffered terrible arm pump on the first run. Simply rolling the brake levers forward a bit fixed it for me. Other options are trying different size grips, dampening grips, different bar angles and widths and even carbon bars can help as I’ve read that carbon helps dampen vibrations compared to metal. Maybe even spray some expanding foam into your bars to create your own version of spanks vibrocore system…

James_C

Nov 25, 2019
Kent, UK
what is your front suspension and when was it last serviced? Also - are you using too much pressure in the front?

dobbyhasfriends

🌹Old Bloke 🎸
Subscriber
Sep 19, 2019
Llandovery, Wales
what is your front suspension and when was it last serviced? Also - are you using too much pressure in the front?
Brand new, pressure is perfect
Are you gripping the bars too tightly?
Probably, but I still lost a hand off the bat last time at bpw

Next time I’m just gonna try breaking a lot less, for shorter time rather than dragging then which I catch myself doing so the time