Full suspension versus hardtail

Orinoko

Nov 10, 2020
Stroud
Hi,I’m a newbie to to whole emtb life
Which should I go for?
I want to keep it for a while.
Is a Cube action team 140 too much bike for a beginner?
Thanks

SquireRides

E*POWAH Elite World Champion
Sep 4, 2018
UK
There's not many 'good' hardtail ebikes on offer. They are mostly aimed at commuter/road use.

Kenisis are one of the few: RISE PRO

If on a budget, the Cube Acid hardtail ebike always looked like good value. Certainly not for the tougher trails, but a good XC/trail bike with scope to upgrade.

Thing is, any emtb will be fairly expensive so going up to a full suss is not much more money. There's some good budget full suss out there too from Decathlon, Vitus etc.

Jackware

Fat-tyred Freakazoid
Subscriber
Oct 30, 2018
Lancashire
One point that may be relevant to some is that the Cube SLT hardtails have a 150kg max weight limit which is a lot higher than most ebikes so may be useful if you're a built like the proverbial sh#thouse.

Last edited:

JoeBlow

Jul 7, 2019
South West, UK
What style of riding will you be doing? "Mountain biking" covers a whole range of disciplines from riding on forest roads and gravel trails to all out steep, gnarly, rooty, rocky, rough descents with jumps and drops and long cross country rides where you could encounter anything. For all but the relatively easy forest trails I would go full sus. The next question will then be "how much travel" and again this depends on the riding you intend doing. 150mm - 160mm seems to be emerging as a good all round do it all setup.

Al

Monkey Dog

Jun 4, 2020
Derbyshire
Look at the Voodoo Zobop E. You get a lot of goodies you find on much higher priced bikes.
As for fs or ht. If you buy a ht, you'll be thinking 'I'd like a fs'. Buy a fs.

I rode a ht for years, I purchased a fs & I wouldn't go back to a ht.

DrStupid

Patreon
Jul 10, 2019
Pleasureville Ky