Finance

Teedyt

Nov 27, 2019
Kendal
Thinking of buying a used bike but is there any way of checking if it’s been purchased on finance ! I’ve seen a couple of levo sl’s from same seller with next to no miles on them ! And don’t want to end up with a finance company chasing me for other people’s debt

steve_sordy

Wedding Crasher
Nov 5, 2018
Lincolnshire, UK
It used to be that the Citizen's Advice Bureau (A UK org) would check for outstanding finance on cars. They may check finance on any asset, or probably nothing at all these days, but it won't hurt to give them a call.

The only positive suggestion I can make is to get the seller and you to sign a dated document that says the bike is as described, and that you are happy with it (to keep the seller happy), that £#### has been paid to the seller by you in exchange for a bike that was legally owned by the seller, and is free of finance or other encumbrances.

I am not a lawyer, those that are may chip in to say that this has no legal weight at all.
If it comes to a dispute over ownership, then I am aware that someone cannot legally do something that is illegal. So if the seller does not own the bike he cannot legally transfer title, ie sell it to you. So no amount of covering your arse with legal documents will protect you. :(

One more thing for us all to be concerned about when buying used bikes.

I've just had an idea! Contact eBay and ask them how to protect yourself from people selling a bike that is either stolen, not owned by the seller, or has an outstanding finance deal on it. They MUST have come across this countless times. I asked them a similar question when I was selling and they were very helpful.

Hob Nob

Jun 4, 2020
UK
If it's the likes of V12 (which pretty much every one is) then it's an unsecured personal loan. Thus, it's not like car finance where you are liable, as its not linked to the item (other than a means to recognise the reason for buying).