Di2 Any Good. Who has it

Peterg

Apr 26, 2019
Uk
Looking into fitting di2 to my Focus Jam2. What is involved? I have picked up on cables are needed? Thought it is wireless.??
Ultimately is it any good???
So anybody who has it and fitted it, tell me your thoughts..
Thanks.

betti154

Oct 30, 2019
Sydney
I installed xt d12 on my sam2 a week ago.

Great upgrade for focus bikes as I think that gear cable routing above the motor makes it an absolute pain to change gear cable outer and the bends are aggressive.

My right gear shifter was faulty and sticking but I’ve replaced that now, seems good.

Logical upgrade on e8000 bikes as you only need shifter, two cables and deraileur. Install easy though I had to remove motor to do it.

Installing a battery on normal bike would suck. Gear number indicator is nice on display as i don’t fell I’m as in tune with gear selection on ebike as normal one. I’m relatively new to ebike too.

Shifts up and down are quick as hell, but I’m finding the shift up (to smaller cog) seems very violent on the chain when in trail or boost. It’s hard to back off the pedals enough to make an easy shift when the motor still has that follow through after you stop pedalling. This would be the same on a normal bike if you pedalled mega hard on up shifts but seems to be a concern with ebike power from motor (unless my setup is wrong).

Multi shift is nice up and down as is the beep when you reach either end of the cassette.

Not integrating the shifter into the brakes with I spec 2 is a big mistake by shimano for me. The shifter is ok but it’s not a match to normal shifter and switching bikes messes with head head. I’ve reversed the paddles in E-TUBE app to help,makes it closer to normal shifter actions to me.

I also needed the Stunlocker app (can use emax too) to hack system and tell it I had electrical shifting. Doesn’t work otherwise.

damien

Peterg

Apr 26, 2019
Uk
Damien
Thanks for the information.
The two cables where do they fit??