Suntour suspension...any good?

MOTO13

Sep 16, 2020
Elkhorn, Wi
Looking at a bike with full Suntour suspension and I have real reservations about it. The price is decent for the bike, but just can't get past the ST stuff. Fork is a 36RC2 and the shock is a RS129 Trailair 3CR, of which I have zero knowledge of this stuff. Just know that ST is put on as a budget friendly suspension. Any opinions wb appreciated. Thanks.

Paulquattro

E*POWAH Elite
May 7, 2020
The Darkside
Hi
You have sort of answered your own questions
Its budget suspension and it really depends what your style of riding is
If your doing a bit of woodland trails etc then its fine for use
But if your going out and hitting bike parks etc its not going to be good at all
Hope this helps a little im sure others will be along soon to throw some more at the thread (y)

MOTO13

Sep 16, 2020
Elkhorn, Wi
All wooded single track is what I ride here in Wisconsin. No huge hits, just semi agressive trail stuff.

Ian222

Oct 19, 2021
England
Ok so what’s the bike and price?
I would have thought it would be fine for what you need it for but if you start to go for more demanding rides then you may regret it.

mustclime

Apr 19, 2023
New Jerzy
I have a bit of a rep with my riding buddy’s for being good with fork rebuilds. I have torn down 2 different suntour forks to try to get them to not feel so stiff. The guts on the suntour forks look like early 2000 fox forks. The forks I worked on were very primitive, they are ether to stiff and have no small bump feel or they blow through travel and bottom every where….. there may be some good suntour forks, but I have not seen them.

lovespicyfood

Nov 24, 2023
California
I test rode that exact bike as potentially my first e-bike. Short ride, but the suspension surprised me, it felt pretty darn good. I'm no suspension expert by any stretch of the imagination, but this isn't cheap Suntour suspension...I believe it's their top of the line.