Levo Gen 2 *%#^#^ Creaking Sound driving me batty! ?

Specfan

Apr 11, 2021
Toronto, Canada
Hi everyone,

Today I just noticed a creaking sound which *I think* is coming from the bottom bracket.

Update: My wife said it’s coming from the rear shock and it needs some lube! Who am I to argue?!

I can stand on the pedals with the brakes on a rock bike and forth and each “side” will creak. That is pressure on left or pressure on right pedal and - CRACK! So cheesy sounding boys, I need to fix this or ride faster! ?

It’s only when I’m just starting out pedalling with higher torque. Once I’m going I don’t notice any noise, but if I’m slowing down peddling fairly hard and slow navigating through bushes or forest I get this occasional creak sound. It’s really annoying and doesn’t sound good. Any tips would be appreciated! Stay safe.

Last edited:

Tonybro

🦾 The Bionic Man 🦿
Subscriber
Jan 15, 2021
Lancashire
When my bike was serviced recently I asked them to check the creak. They did and indicated the motor mount bolts had slackened off slightly. They dropped the motor, cleaned out the detritus that collects and re-fitted and re-torqued all the bolts. Creak gone...

NoPro

Aug 2, 2019
Austria
Man I know something like that can drive you crazy. ?
I was on the hunt for a clicking noise for more than a month, in the end it was one of two things, worn upper shock hardware and/or dirt in the seattube. See my thread. Also check if the derailleur bolt came loose. At first I realy thought I found it cuz the sound was so right but it took me another 4 weeks to narrow it down...

Specfan

Apr 11, 2021
Toronto, Canada
Man I know something like that can drive you crazy. ?