Review Shimano Linkglide 10 speed drivetrain.

Spin

Dec 24, 2021
Australia
Product Image:
Untitled-1.jpg

Untitled-2.jpg

Product name: Shimano Linkglide 10 speed drivetrain.
Price paid: 275
Score (out of 10): 8

Review: First up , some context for this review.
I have been riding MTB since 1999 , EMTB since 2017. My current bike is a Mondraker Crafty RR 2022 model. I am 57 years old.

I don't have much time on modern 12 speed drivetrains. I have been running SRAM 9 and 10 speed since....forever.... mid 2000s. Shimano 9 speed prior to that...
My preferred setup has been SRAM 10 speed shifter and derailleur , Shimano chain and Sunrace 11-40 10sp cassette. The last worn drivetrain I replaced endured over 2000kms of power delivery behind a Bafang BBSHD mid drive motor. I will say I rarely used all the power of the Bafang and rode mostly in dry conditions but it was far from a cycle path baby, and that drivetrain had some more life in it when it was finally retired.

When I bought a new bike last year and it came with a SRAM GX Eagle 12 speed drivetrain , I figured it was time to face my distaste for modern drivetrains and accept the products that the industry was dishing up. So I ran with it.
After a couple of months , the chain snapped on a power stroke just after a slightly hard landing off a jump. The shifting and general performance up until that time had been adequate. Nothing amazing , a few adjustments were made to the shifter cable as things settled in on the brand new bike. But the chain failure and subsequent face plant as I went over the bars and buried myself refueled my resentment for 12 speed modern drivetrains. I didn't need 12 gears or the ratio range of 11-50T and I could certainly do without BS failures like I had just experienced on a 200km old chain.