Purchase Advice - 1st eMTB

bassez84

Jan 2, 2021
Leeds UK
Hi all,
I am new here. Could do with some advice on purchasing a bike. We have the cycle to work scheme running at work with a £3000 limit which I cannot go over. I had a look at some eMTB and wondered if anyone could advise me or suggest alternatives (keeping the £3000 limit in mind). After reading some of your threads I have my heart set on a full suspension. I am going to use the bike for some lightweight trails in woods (I am very new to this, so I don't trust myself on any hard core downhill). I will also use the bike to get to work when the weather gets better.
This is what I had my eyes on so far:
Haibike 2021 FullSeven 4 - around £2900
this seems to be a new bike (anyone have any experience with this?)

Giant Stance E +2 - around £2999

I have also seen a Trek bike for just over the budget - £3250 - Trek Powerfly FS4. - I quite like the look of this and the Bosch motor sound ever so nice. Plus is has a battery which can be removed, a plus for me as I would like to charge it in my office while at work without having to carry my bike in.

Anyhow, any suggestions, recommendation, don't buy this tips from you Pros?
Any help is really appreciated.

Thanks,
S.

CRFan1

Dec 2, 2020
NW Indiana
My Advice would be to get one from your Local Bike Store so it can be serviced/warrantied unless you are able to do your own work, etc.

Shinn

Nov 8, 2020
Decorah, IA USA
I had a Haibike All Mountain for a while, liked it but the chain tensioner was loud, always clicking. It drove me nuts - maybe they've redesigned it? I do believe its a good brand of EMTB but they are on the heavy side as well when compared to other FF's I traded it due to the weight, not the tensioner - but it was a strong second reason to get rid of it.

I agree with buying local, I ordered my Haibike, had no issues with working on it but made sure I bought my Levo SL from the LBS.

Rickster1978

Jan 4, 2021
Hereford