Is this "charging formula" correct ?

Nakiri

Feb 14, 2022
Brazil
Well, I'm new in this e-Mtb world. I was reading some posts about battery care/recharging and ended up in this website:

And I'll quote some infos from there:

"Most Li-ions charge to 4.20V/cell, and every reduction in peak charge voltage of 0.10V/cell is said to double the cycle life."
"For example, a lithium-ion cell charged to
4.20V (100%) cell typically delivers 300–500 cycles...
3.90V (60–65%) cell should provide 2,400–4,000 cycle "

And then...
"On the negative side, a lower peak charge voltage reduces the capacity the battery stores. As a simple guideline, every 70mV reduction in charge voltage lowers the overall capacity by 10 percent. "

BUT:
"Applying the peak charge voltage on a subsequent charge will restore the full capacity."

What I've concluded from those infos:

If I charge the battery to 65% on one ride and 100% in the next one... I'll not have the reduced capacity issue... and the cycle life life will be up to (500 + 4000)/2 = 2.250 cycles.

Is this assumption correct ? Or am I being too simplistic ?
Of course, assuming that I can ride the trails with only 65% of the battery.

Thanks !!!!

Alexbn921

Sep 27, 2021
East Bay CA
First things first. Buy a wifi plug timer so you can control the charging.

You want to store the battery at 50-60% charged. This is 3.85v per cell.

Before you ride charge it to 100%. This is important to do at least once every couple rides as balancing only starts at around 95%.

NEVER STORE YOUR BATTERY AT 100%

Try not to discharge your battery below 10%. Running it all the way down until limp mode damages it.

As long as you "take care" of your battery it will last for a decade, so don't worry about the exact number of cycle you will get out of it.

Length of time at full and zero charge are what destroy batteries.

Nakiri

Feb 14, 2022
Brazil
First things first. Buy a wifi plug timer so you can control the charging.