• How to use this section. To the thread starter: Once you are satisfied with the answer that youve been given, click the Trophy on the left hand side of the message. This will rate this answer as the 'Best Answer' and will change the question status from 'Unanswerd' to 'Answered'. All members can also upvote an answer with the 'Up' arrow, this will help identify the best answer.

Answered How much longer fork can I upgrade.

Ville86

Feb 12, 2020
Finland
I want to increase both handlebar and BB height. I could go with changing stem, handlebar and shorter cranks for similar effect, but I'm looking towards changing a longer front fork. I have very little experience on adjusting bike geometry before.
My bike is GZR Rampag-e, a 27.5PLUS bike with 100mm and 51 offset Judy silver that has 490mm axle to crown length. Bike has head tube angle of 68 deg. I can try to find more specs of the bike if it helps.

Do I mess up the bikes geometry putting in as long as 532mm AtoC with 44mm offset suspension? Can I put more? Should I put less? Why? Looking at RockShox 35 gold with 130mm.
IMG_20200101_134033_3.jpg

RickBullotta

E*POWAH Elite World Champion
Jun 5, 2019
USA
42mm is a big difference - that would result in roughly a 66 degree HTA. That said, 66 is an increasingly common HTA on bikes these days - slack is definitely in style (the new Santa Cruz eMTB is a 65.5 degree head angle). A cheaper alternative is a thicker fork crown race (you'll use the same fork, but lift the bike approximately 1/2 the thickness of the crown race). Will change the geometry but not the fork travel obviously. It's a very cost effective option.

Extended Crown Race for Fat Bike Suspension Fork Clearance - Custom Mountain Bike Parts | Custom Mountain Bike Parts for MTB Riders, by MTB Riders

Ville86

Feb 12, 2020
Finland