• How to use this section. To the thread starter: Once you are satisfied with the answer that youve been given, click the Trophy on the left hand side of the message. This will rate this answer as the 'Best Answer' and will change the question status from 'Unanswerd' to 'Answered'. All members can also upvote an answer with the 'Up' arrow, this will help identify the best answer.

Gym goers, need some advice - arm pump

dobbyhasfriends

🌹Old Bloke 🎸
Subscriber
Sep 19, 2019
Llandovery, Wales
to all you lot that hit the gym..
I have been doing 4-5 days a week for about 4-5 months now and love it, fitter, stronger etc..

one downside is that most lifting involves gripping and this involves forearms and that is causing me savage arm pump when I go riding, especially on steep tech.

is there any way around this?

Downhillr

Jul 2, 2021
SF Bay, California
I have been doing 4-5 days a week for about 4-5 months now and love it, fitter, stronger etc..

one downside is that most lifting involves gripping and this involves forearms and that is causing me savage arm pump when I go riding, especially on steep tech.

Possibly related to your weight routine… take break days between lifting sessions, might have an arm day alternate with legwork, also foam grip ball like a PT uses in rehab work help with strengthening finger grip. On the bike most arm pump is from over tight, stiff-arm gripping and braking so using a carbon bar, especially like the OneUp Components carbon e-bar along with ODI “Reflex” or similar style grips smooths out the chatter that tends to make you over grip.

Stoffel

Jun 16, 2021
Cotswolds UK
Take up Rock climbing then you’ll experience what real arm pump is!

After around 15 years of climbing I have never had arm pump on a bike, my legs on the other hand go to jelly way sooner than I’d like!

Ribinrobin

Subscriber
Apr 16, 2021
Berkshire, UK

take some down time, Recovery is important. 4/5 days is alot if your riding also

Zed

Feb 26, 2019