Finally chosen my first E-bike.

Pezzar

Apr 6, 2022
Rugeley, England United Kingdom
In the end I'd whittled it down to an Orbea Rise H15, a Giant Reign E+2 and a Marin Alpine E2 - so I've gone for the Marin.
In medium, set up tubeless on the new Vee tyres as there is a shortage on the specced Maxxis and with a 400lb spring, ordered from the nice people at Dean Forest Cycles.
Watched a 100 reviews, looked at even more images and now I'm there I can't wait. I'll be giving my views on the bike (and ebikes in general - I'm an eeb noob!)) after a few weeks of owning and riding various trails on it.
Very lucky to get one as they are in really short supply (as are most bikes tbf) - happy days!

Rubinstein

Apr 7, 2022
kent
Ive tested the Orbea and I own a giant trance, but I know nothing of the Marin, so interested to hear you views on it, what persuaded you to go for it over the other 2 ?

Pezzar

Apr 6, 2022
Ive tested the Orbea and I own a giant trance, but I know nothing of the Marin, so interested to hear you views on it, what persuaded you to go for it over the other 2 ?
Primarily the components - for not much more than the Orbea I'm getting Fox elite 38's, good SLX 4 pot brakes, better tyres and the Fox DHX2 elite - never had a coil shock and always been curious. Discounted the Orbea first as I thought if I'm doing assist then go full fat and like I said in the end the components on the Marin are much stronger for your money - plus the reviews are excellent

Last edited:

Rubinstein

Apr 7, 2022
kent
Have to agree on the Orbea, perfectly capable bike but for me didn’t have the fun factor with 60nm. 80nm or above will get you out of nearly any situation you get yourself in (I cock up quite a lot on the trails) and turn your bike into a hooligan if you want it. Good luck on the Marin, looks like a good choice

Rubinstein

Apr 7, 2022
kent