EMTB Newbie from Manchester, UK

Dave S

Sep 22, 2020
Manchester, UK
Hi,

I'm completely new to EMTB riding although have been riding mountain bikes offroad and commuting for many years, using hardtails to start with then also mainly short to mid travel full suspension bikes mostly for trail riding and XC rather than full-on DH an definitely not freeride or dirtjumping

Have just bought a Giant Trance E+ 2 Pro 2020 as my first EMTB with the view being that I'd get a well specced bike as a long term MTB and not have to be changing components on it although I also still ride my normal hardtail and full sus bikes too

Have only had a couple of rides on the Giant Trance and am well impressed but have spent most time in Eco mode trying to get used to how little assistance I can get away with and it's fine to ride and have also briefly tried the other modes but have to get used to it

Most likely I'll post questions about tuning and in particularly am interested in if anyone has tried the Planet3 rear hub unit on a Giant Trance 2020 because the bike is brilliant but the only thing which is odd is only getting assistance to 15mph when something like 20mph would be more allround support

Enjoying the bike and this forum looks great

Jackware

Fat-tyred Freakazoid
Subscriber
Oct 30, 2018
Lancashire
If you're happy dismantling your bike, this company makes a unit to remove the speed limit from the Yamaha motor. I've used 3 of the units on 3 bikes and had no problems and the display functions as normal.

Dave S

Sep 22, 2020
Manchester, UK
If you're happy dismantling your bike, this company makes a unit to remove the speed limit from the Yamaha motor. I've used 3 of the units on 3 bikes and had no problems and the display functions as normal.

Thanks for reply, I had looked at other tuning options such as Volspeed which sounds similar