E- bike newbie here - well not quite!

Greener

May 16, 2020
Dorset, UK
Hi everyone, just to introduce myself. I’m an old guy who started MTB’ing back in the mid 80’s with a Breezer Storm. I came from being a roadie with a Pennine race bike I had built for me and a Saracen tourer. But I got the bug and far prefer being off road these days with all the traffic and it’s such fun ?
Because of age and creaking bones I decided it was time to take plunge and go electric, despite previously accusing E-bikers of cheating ?
To be honest, I’ve been waiting to see how the technology developed before committing to a big purchase. I’ve decided, rightly or wrongly, that things can’t change dramatically, especially with battery capacity, because of the weight penalty - I know about all of this with cars as I drive a plug-in hybrid.
Anyway, I’m not there yet as I’ve just ordered a Focus Jam2 9.8 Nine from a well known online bike discount store in Germany - they’ve hardly any stock and the price of my bike went up literally overnight by £950 after I’d ordered at the previous price, I imagine because if you’ve got virtually no stock why give it away!
I was having doubts about the small internal battery and it not being removable for charging, as well as the limited range with it. Also, I have a feeling that they might dump their ‘clever’ 2 battery solution with the advent of neater, larger capacity batteries which are well integrated becoming the norm. If that happens then it would have implications for battery supply in the future in the event of warranty claims. I was close to cancelling and buying a Thron2 6.9 which has a better spec but not carbon. It was marginally cheaper, but now out of stock and nearly £500 more than the Jam.
So I’ve decided to leave the order for now because it’ll probably be 3 weeks before they dispatch it.