Bosch Powertube still moves when 'locked' into place

Ashphil

Aug 10, 2021
Hungary
Hi all, I'm new to eBikes, having got my first one recently, and I just have a question about the Bosch Powertube moving when locked in. I didn't buy the world's fanciest eBike (Focus Thron), but I'd like to think it cost enough to not have to trouble shoot things a week into riding it.

When clicked into place, the Powertube can still be moved inwards a couple of mm more. It doesn’t really move at the connector end, and takes a bit of a squeeze to move it at the top, but it can move. The weight of the battery keeps it all pretty stable, but I’m sure it’s moving a bit when ridden off road. Again, am I just looking at something that is to be expected? Is a bit of battery movement when locked in normal? Do the mounting brackets need adjusting, should I pack the space with foam, or just put up with it and ride?

I'll take it back to the shop if need be, but if it is an easy fix to do myself or nothing can be done, then I'd rather get out and ride.

I’ve attached a few photos which might make what I’m trying to say clearer…

Finally, does anyone know of a link to a service manual for working on the above? – I can find the readily-available consumer manuals, but for anything maintenance-wise they say return to the dealer. I’m quite happy to make some minor adjustments myself, but would want to be able to check torque settings, etc. for the mounting brackets.

Powertube cover gaps.jpg

Thron with battery cover locked into position.jpg

Thron with battery cover moved inwards.jpg

Sijmes

Sep 22, 2018
Netherlands
Hi all, I'm new to eBikes, having got my first one recently, and I just have a question about the Bosch Powertube moving when locked in. I didn't buy the world's fanciest eBike (Focus Thron), but I'd like to think it cost enough to not have to trouble shoot things a week into riding it.