Bosch gen 4 friction

phutureproof

Jun 4, 2021
Oxford
I have a thread running in the Whyte forum, but I thought I'd put it here too as perhaps my experience with the Bosch gen 4 motor is not bike brand specific.

Basically, I have a new Whyte e150 RS. Lovely bike. It's my first eMTB. I have no prior experience!

I was aware of the 16mph limit of the motor assistance before I decided to purchase. I understood that there may be a certain amount of friction when you hit that speed. However, I am very surprised at the amount of friction I am experiencing - almost like having the brakes applied. So much so that it is a bit of a struggle to pedal through that speed on a flatish road. Now, I consider myself to be reasonably strong (maybe about average) in my legs. I'm certainly not feeble. So this amount of friction has come as a bit of a surprise.

I know that when I go with mates on their acoustic bikes, they will leave me for dust on flat or very slight gradients. I'll catch up on the climbs and maybe the descents, but it will be a bit of a struggle on many of the basic cross country bits that we do together.

When I am on my normal MTB (or even my Brompton), I go faster than 16mph on flatish roads. I'd guess around 18-20mph.

I'm interested to hear other people's experiences. Basically, is it something that you just learn to live with (probably), or could there be something wrong with my bike/motor (hopefully not)?

j_s

Feb 4, 2020
Nottingham
I get the feeling when it hits the limiter that it's harder to pedal from the fact that the motor is not assisting any longer so it feels different but it's not harder due to an issue with the bike if that makes sense. It's like riding in a higher mode and then dropping down a mode, less assist so you were used to the higher assist before so it feels worse than it is for a few moments until you adjust.

Jackware

Fat-tyred Freakazoid
Subscriber
Oct 30, 2018
Lancashire